Home      Log In      Contacts      FAQs      INSTICC Portal

Visa Information

Do I require a visa when travelling to Valetta, Malta?

Visas for Malta are not required for USA, Canadian, Australian, British and other European Union nationals. Moreover, Australian, Canadian, and US nationals may stay without a visa for up to 90 days. EU nationals may stay for an unlimited period, but must register with the local authorities after three months.

Malta is part of the Schengen system, which allows visitors to travel to all 26 countries without a visa. Therefore, if travelling from one border-free Schengen country to another, EU nationals are not required to show a passport.

List of countries that are part of the Schengen Area:

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland.

List of countries whose nationals need to apply for a visa before travelling to Malta:

Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, China, Comoros, Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Cuba, Djibouti, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Guyana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Ivory Coast, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kosovo, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, Mauritania, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria, North Korea, Oman, Pakistan, Palestine, Papua-New Guinea, Philippines, Qatar, Russia, Rwanda, Sao Tome And Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uganda, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Travellers who need a visa are advised to contact their nearest embassy to check visa requirements in Malta.

Airport Transit Visa

Airport transit visa is issued to people who are transiting through Malta’s International Airport if they are citizens/holders of travel documents of the following states:

Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Ghana, Iran, Iraq, Nigeria, Pakistan, Somalia, Sri Lanka.


For more information on Malta visas, visit the Malta Ministry of Foreign Affairs website or the Schengen Visa Information website.

Important: The information available here is for general purpose only. Please contact your nearest embassy for accurate, up-to-date information.